Anvelink wins fourth in a row, Van Straten takes home extra cash in wild one

Shawano Speedway logo

By Scott Owen

Shawano,WI,6/21/14–With all the rain Mother Nature dropped on the historic half mile last week the racing surface was lighting fast for Hammond’s Farm and Greenhouse night at the races. Nick Anvelink scored his fourth consecutive late model feature win of the year. Travis VanStraten won his second straight race and took home $700 after winning the IMCA Stock Car feature after a disqualification. Jordan Bartz and Kasey Gross won their first features of the season. Jerry Wilinski won his second IMCA Modified feature this summer.

The Shawano Late Model feature began with pole sitter Robert Cullen taking the lead at the start of the race. With Cullen leading Nick Anvelink began working his way through traffic from hi eleventh place starting position. Anvelink had raced his way up sixth on lap six when the race was stopped after a rollover by Jeff Curtin. On lap eight Anvelink moved into second place and began to track down Cullen. On Lap eleven Anvelink pulled to the outside of Cullen entering turn one and took over the top spot exiting turn two. Anvelink led the rest of the way to win his fourth consecutive feature race. Troy Springborn raced his way around Cullen in the closing laps to finish second. Doug Blashe also got around Cullen to take third. Cullen finished in fourth.

The IMCA Modified feature saw Chad Olson grab the lead on lap one. The second year pilot was awfully racey in the first half of the race fending off the charges of Eddie Muenster and Jerry Wilinski. Wilinski, who started in ninth, was able to make the pass for the lead on Olson on lap twelve. Wilinski led to the end while Olson, Muenster, Marcus Yarie, Cody Hudson, and Mark Weisnicht waged a great battle for the next five spots on the track. At the end it was Wilinski, Muenster, Yarie, Hudson, Weisnicht, and Olson making up your top six. The race green to checkered without a yellow flag.

Extra money was on tap for IMCA Stock cars as the winner would pick up $500 to win and bonus money for laps led in the 25 lap main event. Pole sitter Nate Michonski looked to have the car to beat in the early stages of the race. After eight laps Michonski was leading with Travis VanStraten, Kyle Frederick, Harley Simon, and Trent Nolan rounding out the top five. Coming into turn three on the next lap Michonski’s car erupted in flames bringing out a red flag. Michonski coasted to pit lane and the fire was put out. While stopped under the red flag Trent Nolan’s car also had flames ender the hood. The odd turn of events eliminated both drivers from the race. On the restart VanStraten became the leader of the race with Frederick on the chase. Frederick pulled even with VanStraten on lap twenty four and held the lead as the white flag waved with the duo side by side. VanStraten pulled ahead of Frederick coming out of turn two on the final lap. Entering turn three for the final time Frederick dove to the inside of VanStraten. The two cars raced side by side coming through turn four and were still door to door down the frontstretch. At the line it was Frederick by a whisker over VanStraten. In post race inspection though Frederick was found with a rules infraction and was disqualified from the race handing the win to VanStraten.

Brandon Nygaard led the first two laps of the IMCA Sport Mode feature before Jordan Bartz took the lead away on lap three. It would be all Bartz for the rest of the race. Joey Taycher tried to track her down, but Bartz was uncatchable. It was the first win of the year for the second generation race.

Kasey Gross won a time shortened caution marred Mighty Four feature after passing Brad Weede on lap four. Wedde held on to finish second.

Race Summary:

Late Model Feature: 1)Nick Anvelink, 2)Troy Springborn, 3)Doug Blashe, 4)Robert Cullen, 5)Joe Reuter, 6)Brett Swedberg, 7)Ron Berna, 8)Tim Rothe, 9)Cody Grosskreutz, 10)Aaron Holiday 11)Rob Krull 12) Kurt Moeller 13) Steve Petri Jr 14) Aarom Wickershiem 15) Josh Moesch 16)Jeremy Kazynski 17) Justin Hirt 18) Jasper Drengler 19) Steve Petri 20) Adam Janke 21)Cody Welch 22) Jeff Curtin
Heat 1: 1)Jeff Curtin, 2)Swedberg, 3)Kurt Moeller.
Heat 2: 1)Cullen, 2)Reuter, 3)Anvelink.
Heat 3: 1)Springborn, 2)Blashe, 3)Grosskreutz.

IMCA Modified Feature: 1)Jerry Wilinski, 2)Eddie Muenster, 3)Marcus Yarie, 4)Cody Hudson, 5)Mark Weisnicht, 6)Chad Olson, 7)Jerry Muenster, 8)Matt Oreskovich, 9)Derek Kozak, 10)Lance Arneson. 11) Michael Bailey 12) Paul Thorpe 13) John Berna 14) Mitchell Stankowski 15) Tom Schall
Heat 1: 1)Olson, 2)Weisnicht, 3)Mike Bailey.
Heat 2: 1)Wilinski, 2)Jerry Muenster, 3)Hudson.

IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1)Travis VanStraten, 2)Mike Schmidt, 3)Harley Simon, 4)Barry VanStraten, 5)Jake Lunderby, 6)Luke Uttecht, 7)Tom Riehl, 8)Vern Stedjee, 9)Larry Parshen, 10)Gary Kasperek. 11) Austin Olson 12) Ray DePew 13) BJ Giese 14) Dan Miller 15)Trent Nolan 16)Nate Michonski 17) Chris Loewenhagen 18)Clint Mauleg 19)Joe Schwister 20) Kyle Frederick
Heat 1: 1)Travis VanStraten, 2)Kyle Frederick, 3)Nate Michonski.
Heat 2: 1)Schmidt, 2)Simon, 3)Lunderby.

IMCA Sport Mod Feature: 1)Jordan Bartz, 2)Joey Taycher, 3)Jason Jach, 4)Tracy Wassenberg, 5)Tristin Peebles, 6)Lucas Lamberies, 7)Brandon Nygaard, 8)Don Woller, 9)Weston Frenche, 10)Karah Peterson. 11) Brock Saunders
Heat 1: 1)Peebles, 2)Lamberies, 3)Taycher.
Heat 2: 1)Jach, 2)Brock Saunders, 3)Wassenberg.

Mighty Four Feature: 1)Kasey Gross, 2)Brad Wedde, 3)Tanner Westphal, 4)Dalton Nelson, 5)Josh Slewinski, 6)Grant Kastning, 7)Jeff Behm, 8)Matt DeWilde, 9)Matt Torphy, 10)Matt Hatterman. 11) Jim Burton 12)Calvin Chapin 13) Brian Seger 14) Carl King 15) Chris Hidde 16) Jasper Drengler
Heat 1: 1)Westphal, 2)Wedde, 3)Torphy.
Heat 2: 1)Gross, 2)Chris Hidde, 3)Slewinski.