IMCA Modified feature goes to Jerovetz

OshkoshSpeedzone Logo

By Dave Panske

Oshkosh, May 23- With Mother Nature finally throwing some summer like weather at us, Oshkosh Speedzone track crews were able to present a smooth and very fast 1/3 mile clay oval for 136 race teams to play on Friday night with Total Power Sales as the nights title sponsor.

The tacky track offered three and four wide racing options for all divisions and also its share of problems for drivers not used to consistent conditions all night long.

The Outlaw Chassis Grand Nationals took the track first with Tim Doehling taking charge at the start with Brian Henry dropping in right behind.   Larry Richards, Tim Reichenberger and Derek Schrauth pulled up in line after a lap 2 caution, as Henry took over the top spot.   Henry took off from the field as the race for second heated up.  The next 4 cars staged a tight battle for most of the rest of the contest.   Henry just ran by himself with few issues until about 6 laps remaining, when the power steering quit on his mount.  Despite having to man handle his car through some lapped traffic, he had a safe lead that he took to victory lane for his first feature win of the season.   Reichenberger won the battle for second with Richards third, Schrauth, Doehling and Terry Van Roy making up the top six.

Jordan Tuyls set the pace as the IMCA Sport Mods took the green with Robby Thiel, Scott Howe, Nick Furman and Clint Forstner behind.   The battle up front was tight through the first half of the race.   Tuyls maintained the top spot until lap 8, when Forstner was able to take control,  Steve Schneider, Todd Wiese and Lucas Lamberies were making their way to the front .

Lap 10 found Forstner still in front with Schneider, Howe, Lamberies, Tuyls and Wiese behind. The caution appeared on lap 11 for a spin and bunched the entire field. The top 4 put on a show for the lead.  Forstner, Schneider, Lamberies, Wiese and Thiel continued to swap positions each lap. Forstner looked up to the challenge by holding off all advances until a slip out of turn 2 on lap 15, opend the door for Schneider to sneak by on the inside. Despite a final caution on lap 17, Schneider was able to hold the top spot for his second feature win of the season.   Wiese  took second with Forstner third.  Thiel, John Schulz and Lamberies rounded out the top six.

Gold Star Racing Products Street Stocks were up next with Justin Lindner taking the lead with Ryan Blank, Jeff Wicinski and Frank Knaus behind.  A caution and several cars spinning made lapped traffic an issue early on with a couple running with the leaders,   Lindner was able to maintain the top spot despite the added issues, and the race for second was just as interesting as they cars stayed with the leader.  Wicinski, Rich Garb, Blank, Knaus wer in line at the mid point when several cautions kept the race tight over the final laps.  Garb took over the lead on lap 11 and contact behind the leader on lap 12,  involved Lindner and Blank, sending them both out of the race.  Wicinski was still in the runner up spot but, Jerry Winkler, Steve Gawaresky, John Sidesky and Patty Winkler were now up to battle Garb for the elad.   The race at the front stayed tight despite a couple more cautions.   Garb was up to the challenge and a final caution on lap 18, brought the race to an end, Garb collected his first feature win of the season, his first night out.  Gawaresky took second with Winkler in third.  Sidesky, Patty Winkler and Knaus rounded out the top six.

Automotive Supply Company IMCA Modifieds were up next with Dennis Schultz leading the way before the cautions started already on lap 2.   There was not a stretch of more than three laps during the entire race without a caution, which made advancing a premium.  Schultz led through lap 5, when T.J. Smith moved into the top spot.  Sean Jerovetz, Marcus Yarie, Jeremy Christians, Dan Roehdl and Brian Drexler were behind.  Jerovetz moved into the lead on lap 8, and was able to run to the time limit shortened checker on lap 14.

The defending division champion picked up his first feature win of the season.    Smith took his best finish of the season in second.  Christians was third after winning the consy to make the main.    Drexler also ran a season best fourth with Roedl and Yarie  in the top six.

The Total Power Sales IMCA Stock Cars put on an excellent run for their feature. After a lap 2 caution, Dylam Heilmann took over the lead from Joe Schwister. Larry Karcz, Jr moved from mid pack into the runner up spot and intoi the lead on lap 5.  Travis Van Straten made his moved into second a lap later and as the battle for the elad got heavy, John Heinz broke free of the pack I nfourth and started to close the gap on the leader.s

Van Straten was able to wrestle the top spot from Karcz on lap 13 and began to open a lead whith Heinz now working on Karcz for second.

Van Straten walked off with his second straight feature win with Karcz holding Heinz at bay for the runner up finish.   Heilmann held on for fourth with Justin Jacobsen making a run to finish fifth.  David Hoerning rounded out the top six.

The Elllington Mutual Insurance Dirt Devils made their feature run the best of the night running caution free.   Joe Minks set the pace early with Kasey Gross making his move to the front on lap 3.   He front pair pulled away from the pack a bit with  defending champion, Jason Fairbank, moving into third on lap 4 and quickly chewed away at the leaders.    Shaun Bangert  broke out of the pack as well and joined Fairbank moving forward.  It was soon a four way battle for the lead, with Fairbank taking second on lap 7.  He pressured Gross for the  top spot until suddenly pulling off track on lap 12 and into the pit.    The mix up briefly caused a break in momentum and allowed Gross to open a lead.  Bangart and Minks were joined by Erik Kollmann.  Gross ran away to win his first feature of the season.   Kollmann won the battle for second with Bangart in third and Minks fourth.  Cody Pangkow and Timothy Kundinger made the top six.

All six divisions return next Friday night with racing at 7 PM.


IMCA Modified

14 Lap Feature  l. Sean Jerovetz  2. T.J. Smith  3. Jeremy Christians  4. Brain Drexler   5. Dan Roedl   6. Marcus Yarie

12 Lap Consy  l. Christians  2. Ed Lemay  3. Taylor Scheffler   4. Andy Gross

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Smith   2. Mike Wedelstadt

Second  l. Yarie   2. Roedl

Third  l Dennis Schultz   2. Mike Klenz

Fourth  l. John Schultz  2. Drexler


20 Lap Feature  l. Travis Van Straten   2. Larry Karcz, Jr   3. John Heinz   4. Dylan Heilmann   5. Justin Jacobsen   6. David Hoerning

8 Lpa Heats  First  l. Heilmann   2.  Hoerning

Second  l. Jake Lunderby   2. Karcz, Jr


20 Lap Feature  l Steve Schneider   2, Todd Wiese   3. Clint Forstner   4. Robby Thiel   5. Jon Schultz   6. Lucas Lamberies

12 Lap Consy   1. Bernie Miller   2. Jeff Schmuhl   3. Brandon Schmitt  4. Brock Saunders

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Thiel   2. Wiese

Secolnd  l., Jordan Tuyls   2. Colten Van Hierden

Third  l. Lamberies   2. Zach McKinnon


18 Lpa Feature  l Rich Garb   2. Steve Gawaresky  3. Jerry Winkler   4. John Sideshy  5. Patty Winkler   6. Frank Knaus

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Justin Lindner   2. Ryan Blank

Second  l. Jeff Wisinski   2. Gawaresky

Third  l. Sidesky   2. Lexi Ashcraft


20 Lap Feature  l. Brian Henry   2., Tim Reichenberger  3., Larry Richards  4. Derek Schrauth  5. Tim Doehling   6. Terry Van Roy

8 Lap Herats  First  l. Doehling   2. Schrauth

Second  l. Henry   2. Tom Schneider


20 Lap Feature e l. Kasey Gross   2. Erik Kollmann   3. Shaun Bangart  4./ Joe Minks   5. Cody Pangkow  6. Timothy Kundinger

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Ben Meyerhofer  2. Christopher Maas

Second  l. Gross   2. Kundinger

Third  l. Kollmann   2. Minks